New CSU Board of Trustees Appointments

Governor Jerry Brown has announced the appointment of new members of the CSU Board of Trustees.

His announcement, made March 3, listed four first-time trustees and one returning trustee.

First time appointees are: Jane Carney of Riverside, Jean Picket Firstenber of Los Angeles, Thelma Meléndez de Santa Ana of Los Angeles and Lateefah Simon of Oakland.

Lillian Kimbell of Woodland Hills has been reappointed to the board, where she has served since 2014.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the oversight of the California State University. The Board adopts rules, regulations, and policies governing the 23-campus system and has authority over curricular development, use of property, development of facilities, and fiscal and human resources management.

In addition, the board appoints the Chancellor and Vice Chancellors for the system, and the Presidents for the campuses as chief executives with certain delegated responsibilities.

To learn more about the new appointees, read the press release. To learn more about the Board of Trustees, visit their website.