Budget Cuts Take a Front Seat at Convocation

Budget Cuts Take a Front Seat at Convocation
President Ortiz delivers his Fall Conference address.
Jeffrey Mio, center, receives the George P. Hart Award.
Faculty and staff gather in the Bronco Student Center for Convocation.

The severity of the budget cuts was a central theme at the 2009 Fall Conference Convocation, which was scaled back and held in the Bronco Student Center instead of the Engineering Meadow. During his address, university President Michael Ortiz explained the state budget situation and how it has affected Cal Poly Pomona.

Full text of the speech is available online at www.cpp.edu/~fallconference/speech.shtml. Recorded video of Convocation and Service Awards presentation is online at https://video.cpp.edu/FallConf.

The $584 million cut to the CSU system translates into a $30 million cut for Cal Poly Pomona, which is more than 20 percent of the university's general fund. As a result, the university has taken serious actions, including furloughing employees, freezing salaries, raising student fees and reducing enrollment.

And still, the campus will have to consider more measures moving forward, Ortiz said. “The state budget may stabilize, but anyone who thinks it's going to get better is just out of touch.”

The university must seek private funding to help ensure that education programs will remain strong in the future, he said. Although the comprehensive campaign will not enter its public phase this year, fundraising efforts are already strong. In fact, 2008-09 marked the single greatest fundraising year in university history, with more than $27.4 million in gifts, pledges and bequests, mostly the latter.

During Convocation, Ortiz honored this year's recipient of the George P. Hart Award for Outstanding Faculty Leadership, the university's highest faculty award. Professor Jeffrey Mio in the Department of Psychology & Sociology has been part of the campus for 15 years, serving in a number of capacities, including chair of the Masters of Science advisory committee, two-term president of the Asian Pacific  Faculty, Staff & Student Association, and a member of his department executive advisory committee.

The President also highlighted many accomplishments in the past year: a $1.5 million grant for stem cell research and education, the Academic Senate's approval of the academic plan, the men's basketball team's appearance in the NCAA Division II Championship game, 34 student-athletes receiving Academic All-Conference honors, and alumna Hilda Solis being named the U.S. Secretary of Labor.

President Ortiz introduced new campus leaders, including fresh and familiar faces:

  • ASI President Richard Liu 
  • ASI Vice President Christopher Chen 
  • Stephanie Doda, the new administrator in charge of I&IT 
  • Les Young, dean of the College of Agriculture 
  • Richard Lapidus, dean of the College of Business Administration 
  • Carol Richardson, dean of the College of Letters, Arts & Social Sciences 
  • Michael Woo, dean of the College of Environmental Design 
  • Ray Wang, dean of the University Library 

Outstanding Academic Advisors

  • Patricia de Freitas, Ethnic & Women's Studies / College of Education & Integrative Studies 
  • Phillip Ghazanfari, Finance, Real Estate & Law / College of Business Administration 
  • Kim Huynh, Student Support and Equity Programs (SSEP) / Student Affairs 
  • Tina Carroll McCorkindale, Communication / College of Letters, Arts, and Social Sciences 
  • Frederick Roth, Plant Sciences / College of Agriculture 
  • Donald St. Hilaire, The Collins College of Hospitality Management 
  • Pamela Sperry, Biological Sciences / College of Science 
  • Clifford Stover, Mechanical Engineering / College of Engineering 
  • Andrew Wilcox, Landscape Architecture / College of Environmental Design 

Faculty receiving tenure and promotion to professor

  • Thomas Ketseoglou, Electrical & Computer Engineering 
  • Jawaharlal Mariappan, Mechanical Engineering 
  • Brita Olson, Electrical & Computer Engineering 
  • Alexander Rudolph, Physics 
  • Ronald Yeung, Civil Engineering 

Faculty receiving tenure and promotion to associate professor

  • Nina Abramzon, Physics 
  • Jeffrey Brown, Hospitality Management 
  • Berit Givens, Math & Statistics 
  • Carlos Gonzalez, Management & Human Resources 
  • Kenneth Hansen, Kinesiology & Health Promotion 
  • Thienhuong Hoang, Education 
  • Luis Hoyos, Architecture 
  • Crystal Yachin Lee, Art 
  • Alison Pearlman, Art 
  • Chari Pradel, Art 
  • James Rego, Chemistry 
  • Amber Rosin, Math & Statistics 
  • Broc Sandelin, Animal & Veterinary Sciences 

Faculty receiving tenure

  • Julianna Delgado, Urban & Regional Planning 
  • Lloyd Lee, Chemical & Materials Engineering 
  • David Herzog, Counseling & Psychological Services 
  • Craig Muir, Counseling & Psychological Services 

Outstanding Staff

  • Janet Cain, Risk Management 
  • Elsie Considine, College of Environmental Design 
  • Penne Fode, Animal & Veterinary Sciences 
  • Rita Haerr, Instructional & Information Technology