Broncos earn Division II ADA Academic Achievement Awards

Twenty-two Cal Poly Pomona student-athletes have been awarded the 2008-09 Division II Athletics Directors Association Academic Achievement Awards by WeatherPORT. The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division II level.

“Our student-athletes honored by the Division II Athletics Directors Association are truly the epitome of achievement,” says university Athletics Director Brian Swanson. “They competed both in the classroom and in their respective sport with outstanding distinction. They continue to ensure Cal Poly Pomona is recognized on a national level while balancing academics and athletics.”

The 22 student-athletes are:

  • Kyle Krause, men's basketball
  • Jimmy Miyasaka, men's basketball
  • Reyana Colson, women's basketball
  • Stephisha Walton, women's basketball
  • Casey Yokubaitis, baseball
  • Bethany Meichsner, women's soccer
  • Stephanie Sandino, women's soccer
  • Joshua Lau, men's tennis
  • Jeffrey Vachirajongkol, men's tennis
  • Mallory Brady, women's tennis
  • Jessica Winkler, women's tennis
  • Kaitlin Wooldridge, women's tennis
  • Jasmine Davis, volleyball
  • Anne-Marie Hofmans, volleyball
  • Rocio Vargas, volleyball
  • Denise Salceda, women's track and field/cross country
  • Allison Brewer, women's track and field/cross country
  • Jennifer Cryer, women's track and field/cross country
  • Megan Emami, women's track and field/cross country
  • Anthony Drake, men's track and field
  • Connor Duckworth, men's track and field
  • Derek Wong, men's track and field

Krause, Meichsner, Lau, Brady, Davis, Vargas, Salceda, Brewer, Cryer, Drake, Duckworth and Wong also earned this honor last year.

For more information about Bronco Athletics, visit