Hart Nominations Accepted Until May 15

Hart Nominations Accepted Until May 15
Gwen Urey of Urban & Regional Planning received the Hart Award at the 2008 Fall Convocation.

Nominations for the 2009-10 George P. Hart Award for Outstanding Faculty Leadership are due May 15. This award, along with a $1,000 honorarium, will be presented to a faculty member who displays the highest traditions of academic life, reflecting the commitment of the late Professor Hart.

The Hart Award, now in its 13th year, recognizes faculty members who are regarded as role models and leaders, both on campus and in the community. The award was established in 1996 following the death of George P. Hart, a well-respected 30-year member of the political science department and an associate dean in the College of Letters, Arts & Social Sciences. Hart served on the Academic Senate for 15 years.

The 2008-09 recipient is Urban & Regional Planning Professor Gwen Urey. Other recent recipients include John Moore, History; Glenda Brock, Ombuds Office; Emma Gibson, Library; Gary Cretser, Sociology; William F. Girouard, Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering; and Dorothy Wills, Geography & Anthropology. The 2009-10 Hart Award recipient will be honored at Cal Poly Pomona's Fall Convocation in September.

Characteristics of the successful candidate include:

  • Influence that extends beyond the boundaries of the academic setting and enriches the wider community              
  • Strong personal traits that reflect compassion, benevolence, and intellectual curiosity              
  • Exemplary leadership at the university               
  • Active participation in the life of the university               
  • Recognized role model for faculty and students               
  • Active community leader              

Written nominations should follow a one-page letter format. Self-nominations are discouraged. Send your nomination to Marissa M. Martinez at mmmartinez1@cpp.edu.