Bronco Men Make History as National D-II Runners-Up

Cal Poly Pomona will welcome home its men's basketball team from a magical run in the NCAA Division II Championship Tournament with two rallies on Sunday and Thursday.

The Broncos capped off a historic season with a heart-stopping, down-to-the-wire championship game on Saturday, March 28. The Broncos fell to the unbeaten Findlay Oilers 56-53 in overtime after a last second, game-winning shot.

On Sunday, March 29, at 6:45 p.m., fans will gather in Parking Lot K at Cal Poly Pomona to welcome home the team. The Broncos have traveled about 10,000 miles since March 11, and managed to complete their winter quarter final exams somewhere in between.

The whole campus will have an opportunity to celebrate on Thursday, April 2, at noon, during a university pep rally in front of the Bronco Student Center.

The unranked Bronco men's basketball team was described as the Cinderella story this season. Their appearances in the tournaments finals and semifinals were the first in Cal Poly Pomona history.

The Broncos flew to Seattle and drove to Bellingham, Wash., for the opening round of the NCAA West Sub-Regional. They won their two games in Bellingham and traveled from Seattle home before heading to Oahu, Hawaii. There they upset the nation's third-ranked team, Brigham Young University-Hawaii.

In Springfield, Mass., they defeated Southwest Minnesota State and Augusta State in the first two rounds of the NCAA Elite 8.

Senior forward Larry Gordon set school records this season as the only player to have more than 1400 points, 900 rebounds, 500 field goals, 375 free throws, 125 steals and 40 blocks. The Pomona native was also named Most Outstanding Player for the West Region and the California Collegiate Athletic Association's Most Valuable Player and was selected for the National Association of Basketball Coaches All-American team.

Gordon and Walter Thompson were named to the All-Tournament team. Gordon and Austin Swift were also named to the CCAA first team. Earning CCAA second team honors is Tobias Jahn. Head coach Greg Kamansky also was honored as the CCAA Coach of the Year. The Broncos also include: Robert Summers, Dwayne Fells, Dahir Nasser, Jimmy Miyasaka, Matthew Rosser, Kyle Krause, Donnelle Booker, Kevin Ryan, associate head coach Bill Bannon and assistant head coach Damion Hill.

Congratulations for an inspirational and unforgettable season! Go Broncos!

For more information, visit Bronco Athletics.