Scholar Ballers Honor Faculty and Staff

It's time to celebrate your Bronco Spirit! Select faculty and staff members will be the center of attention during halftime at the upcoming Bronco basketball games on Friday, Jan. 30, in the Kellogg Gym. On Faculty/Staff Appreciation Night presented by Scholar Baller, 26 people will be recognized for their dedication to education and for enthusiastically supporting Bronco Athletics.

Each year, student athletes from every sport who have a GPA of 3.4 or higher receive the “Scholar Baller” distinction. They each nominate an inspiring faculty member, and the athletics department also chooses several staff members who promote Bronco Spirit and partnership.

Track and Field athlete Derek Wong says he nominated David Mylander, a lecturer in the Physics Department, because of his willingness to help students and give advice on preparing for graduate exams, such as the MCAT. “He makes physics fun and challenging at the same time,” says Wong, a biology major. “He's a great teacher. He really inspires you to learn the subject very well.”

The faculty and staff members will be honored during halftime of the men's and women's games against Cal State Los Angeles. They will receive a Bronco Athletics T-Shirt and a framed certificate. The women's game begins at 5:30 p.m., and the men compete at 7:30 p.m.

The honorees are:

Dr. Kevin Farmer, Management & Human Resources

Nominated by Unique Anderson, Women's Basketball

Dr. Ashok Natarajan, Accounting

Nominated by Reyana Colson, Women's Basketball

Dr. Glenn Stewart, Biological Sciences

Nominated by Ally Smith, Women's Basketball

Dr. Linda Mollno, History

Nominated by Stephisha Walton, Women's Basketball

Dr. Sandra Kapoor, Collins College of Hospitality Management

Nominated by Kaitlin Wooldridge, Women's Tennis

William Foley, Accounting

Nominated by Fallon Blattner, Women's Tennis

Dr. Michael Page, Chemistry

Nominated by Kailah Martin, Women's Soccer

Jaime Martinez Jr., Economics

Nominated by Elise Frontino, Women's Soccer

Dr. Lisa Riggin-Walden, History

Nominated by Elizabeth Soria, Women's Track & Field

Marcia Starcher, Financial Aid & Scholarships

Nominated by Bronco Athletics

Maria Martinez, Registrar's Office

Nominated by Bronco Athletics

Daiken Fiore, Graphic Communications Services

Nominated by Bronco Athletics

Vivian Hartsock, Payroll Services

Nominated by Bronco Athletics

Greg Cook, Mechanical Engineering

Nominated by Kyle Krause, Men's Basketball

Dr. Robert Talmadge, Biological Sciences

Nominated by Jimmy Miyasaka, Men's Basketball

Dr. Leopoldo Lovelace, Political Science

Nominated by Casey Yokubaitis, Baseball

Dr. John Lloyd, History

Nominated by Jake Magnant, Men's Tennis

Dr. Michael Smith, History

Nominated by Connor Duckworth, Men's Track

David Mylander, Physics

Nominated by Derek Wong, Men's Track & Field

Dr. Perky Vetter, Kinesiology & Health Promotion

Nominated by Stephanie Sandino, Women's Soccer

Dr. Hyunjoo Im, Apparel Merchandising & Management

Nominated by Carolyn Rubendall, Women's Soccer

Melissa Stiltz, Animal & Veterinary Science

Nominated by Codylynn McClure, Women's Soccer

Traci Lew, Orientation Services

Nominated by Bronco Athletics

Edwin Romero, Office of Student Life

Nominated by Bronco Athletics

Debbie Bravo, Faculty Affairs

Nominated by Bronco Athletics

Robert Hutchinson, Office of Events & Special Projects

Nominated by Bronco Athletics

For more information, contact Lorena Mrquez at or visit