Business Leaders Gather for Second Annual Summit at Cal Poly Pomona

Business Leaders Gather for Second Annual Summit at Cal Poly Pomona

About three dozen influential business leaders from across the country will gather this weekend for the university's second annual National Development Council (NDC) weekend summit from Oct. 24-26. Members of this advisory panel, both alumni and non-alumni, were appointed by President Michael Ortiz for two-year terms.

With impressive resumes and the prospects of opening doors for the university at national levels, NDC members help advocate for and advance the university's mission, as well as counsel and his cabinet on financial matters. During the summit, NDC members will review last year's accomplishments and discuss Cal Poly Pomona's academic priorities for the 21st century with deans from each of the colleges.

Serving as chairman is accounting alumnus Mickey Segal, '80, managing partner of Nigro Karlin Segal & Feldstein LLP of Los Angeles, one of the nation's leading business management firms and among the largest locally owned firms in Southern California. With more than 150 employees, the company specializes in the representation of prominent clients in the entertainment industry and sports world. Segal is a member of both the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the California Society of Certified Public Accountants.

Equally notable in their various fields, all NDC members are committed to helping making a difference for the university. The council is comprised of the following members:

  • Daniel A. Andrews – Owner, Dan Andrews Farms     
  • Joel H. Benkie – Vice President, Parker Hannifin Corp.     
  • Jim L. Brulte – Partner, California Strategies & Communications     
  • Viggo Butler – Chairman, United Airports Ltd.     
  • Lance Calvert – President, LACA Inc.     
  • Steven P. Cesinger – President, Dewberry Cesinger Holdings     
  • Wen Chang – President, Trade Union International Inc.     
  • James A. Collins – Collins Financial Investments 
  • Martin Colombatto – Chairman & CEO, Staccato Communications 
  • Richard A. Croxall – Vice President & Chief Engineer, Northrop Grumman Corp.     
  • Michael S. Entzminger – Chairman of the Board & CEO, Mach 1 Air Services     
  • Jeffrey Eppink -President, Enegis, LLC  
  • Michael Ferguson — Vice President & Chief Operation Officer, Stephens Media Group 
  • Dennis Firestone – President, KKW Trucking Inc.     
  • Bill Ford – Senior Vice President & Senior Client Manager, Nonprofit Education & Institutions Bank of America     
  • Lawrence M. Gates – Principal, Development Resource Consultants     
  • Ronald W. Gregoire – Palm Desert, California     
  • Sylvia C. Hall – Director, Corporate Research & Engineering, Ameron International Corp.     
  • Charles W. Hewitt – Professor of Surgery & Director, Division of Surgical Research, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School Division of Surgical Research 
  • Darcel L. Hulse – President & CEO, Sempra LNG     
  • Don B. Huntley – Owner & Partner, Huntley Moore Farms     
  • Prem Jain – Senior Vice President & General Manager, Routing Technology Group, Cisco Systems     
  • Martin Jeffrey King – Co-Founder & CEO, King's Seafood Company     
  • Randall Lewis – Executive Vice President, Lewis Operating Corp.     
  • Jacob Lipa – President, PSOMAS      
  • Arthur J. Ludwick – Glendora, California 
  • Mike Mellano — Owner, Mellano & Company 
  • Niaz Mohamed Jr. – President, Niaz Mohamed Jr. Farming 
  • Christopher Pak – President & CEO, Archeon International     
  • Michelle S. Payne – Director of Foundation and Corporate Relations, National Wildlife Federation     
  • David Perez – Mayor, City of Industry     
  • Gregory Schofield – Executive Vice President & Head of Global Sales, Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corp.     
  • Mickey S. Segal – Managing Partner, Nigro Karlin Segal & Feldstein LLP     
  • Bipin A. Shah – CEO & Chairman, Kovair Software     
  • Lawrence J. Taff – Managing Partner, Shidler Group     
  • Gregory C. Talbott — Chief Operating Officer & Senior Executive Vice President, PFF Bancorp., Inc. 
  • Dana L. Thomas – President & CEO, Index Fresh Inc.     
  • Rene Trevino – Executive Director, Commander, Navy Region Southwest     
  • Kathy Tully – Senior Vice President & Wealth Advisor, Morgan Stanley     
  • Kent R. Valley – Senior Vice President, Majestic Realty Co.     
  • Eva Wasserman – Principal, State Parkway Advisory     
  • Charles E. Wilcox III – Chief Executive Officer, American Red Cross, Southern California Region