Luncheon Honors College of Engineering Scholars

Luncheon Honors College of Engineering Scholars
The luncheon recognized the 2007-88 Boeing Scholarship recipients.

Several student engineers were honored at a recognition luncheon for receiving scholarships during the 2007-08 academic year. The event was hosted by Dean Edward Hohmann of the College of Engineering on May 15.

“We have so many great scholars in engineering. I just thought they should all get to know each other and be recognized for their efforts by benefactors, fellow students, faculty and staff,” Hohmann said.

Of the 65 scholarship recipients, 45 students won a National Science Foundation scholarship, 12 received William Randall Hearst Foundation Scholarships, 8 received scholarships from the Boeing Company and several students received individual scholarships from the Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Department.

The individual ECE scholarships were established by two current professors, Norman Nise and Alex Koutras, as well as two posthumous endowments, Akbar Nouhi and Jacob Castleman. Jacob Castleman's wife, Irene, attended the recognition luncheon. In addition, Mrs. James Dunn was also present for the Dunn/Landmark Communications Scholarship, which was established in honor of her late husband.

Boeing engineer and 1981 College of Engineering alum Thomas Cossio represented Boeing at the event.