2007 Management & Staff Emeritus Honorees Named

Twenty-two staff members will be recognized with Distinguished Management & Staff Emeritus Awards on Tuesday, Oct. 30.

Established in 1981, this honor is given to retiring staff employees who have worked at Cal Poly Pomona for at least 10 years (retiring between July 1, 2006 and June 30, 2007) and have demonstrated outstanding job performance, support of university programs and involvement in campus activities.

As honorees, emeriti are granted certain privileges such as free parking, use of the University Library, free admission to campus events (i.e., athletic, music and theatre events and the Arabian Horse Show), use of campus recreational, dining services and social facilities (including gym, swimming pool and Bronco Student Center), a Cal Poly Pomona e-mail account and discount coupons.

During the ceremony university President Michael Ortiz will present each honoree with a plaque. The honorees are:

  • Olga Alvarez-Sandoval  University Library         
  • Eleanor Berndt – College of Business-Dean's Office         
  • Marlys Bucht – University Library         
  • Wendy Carr – College of Environmental Design Dean's Office         
  • Christine Delaney – College of Environmental Design Dean's Office         
  • Catherine DeMarzi – Landscape Architecture         
  • Glenn Franks – College of Education and Integrative Studies        
  • Jolene Houser – Physics         
  • Floyd Howell – Chemistry         
  • Ernest Kawai- Cal Poly Pomona Foundation         
  • Carol Keating – Research & Sponsored Programs  
  • Fay Hatman – Administration & Financial Service     
  • Gail Larsen – Animal Science         
  • Dennis Logan – Theatre         
  • Dana Martin – Human Resources         
  • Sharon Mathis-Curd – Career Center         
  • Patricia Mendoza – Admissions & Outreach         
  • James Norfleet – Vice President of Student Affairs Office       
  • Sandra Pinedo – Collins School of Hospitality Management         
  • Florence Romo – University Library       
  • Gale Sorensen – Career Center      
  • Bertha Vera – Instructional Technology & Academic Computing        
  • Christine Ward- Vice President Student Affair Office         

The Distinguished Management & Staff Emeritus Awards will take place Oct. 30, 2 p.m.  4 p.m. in Bronco Student Center, Ursa Minor suite. To RSVP or for more information, contact Nora Babinski, (909) 869-4676 njbabinski@cpp.edu or Barbara Argo, (909) 869-6800 baargo@cpp.edu.