Cal Poly Pomona Students Earn EPA Sustainability Award

Cal Poly Pomona Students Earn EPA Sustainability Award
Students show the Green Kit to Congresswoman Grace Napolitano in Washington D.C.
Architecture Student Houston Drum reassembles the Green Kit for an exhibit in Building 7.
Grad Student Lesley Felton makes adjusts to the Green Kit.

A group of architecture and engineering students and their faculty advisors recently received an honorable mention in the EPA's prestigious 3rd annual P3 (People, Prosperity and the Planet) Award competition – a national student design contest for sustainability.

They also garnered the top Ecomedia Award, which included a $1,000 gift, for their project titled “Green Kit: A Modular, Variable Application System for Sustainable Cooling.”

The project is designed to help individual homeowners achieve thermal comfort at lower costs than traditional heating and air conditioning systems.

Ecomedia, a Manhattan Beach-based marketing company, is also slated to produce an informational video of Cal Poly Pomona's project.

The P3 Award was launched in 2004 to respond to the technical needs of the developed and developing world in moving toward sustainability. This national competition enables college students to research, develop and design scientific, technical and policy solutions to sustainability challenges.  

“Being creative is what we do best in this country,” said Stephen L. Johnson, EPA administrator.  ”By combining talent, initiative and the need to make a difference, these students can make an impact that will last for generations.”

Student teams bring their designs to Washington, D.C. where they compete at the National Sustainable Design Expo, an event supported by EPA and its co-sponsors. This year's National Sustainable Design Expo featured the EPA's P3 Award competition on April 24 and 25 at the National Mall.

The Cal Poly Pomona team includes Daniel Baker, German Aparicio, Spencer Brennan, Salvador Ceja, Houston Drum, Jilian Epp, Erin Ezell, Lesley Felton, Ryan Hansanuwat, Brandon Henry, SeungKeun Lee, Mark Lyles, Santiago Montoya, Jazmin Mora, Stephen Nieto, Yamin Oo, Lucas Reames, John Resurreccion, Garrett van Leeuwen, Kristian Whitsett and Nick Sheridan.

The faculty advisors are Pablo La Roche and Michael Fox from the Architecture department and Phyllis Nelson, professor of electrical and computer engineering.

Forty-one teams comprised of more than 350 university students and advisors competed.  

The National Academies, advisors to the nation on science, engineering and medicine, convened a panel to judge the competition and recommend award winners who were chosen by the EPA.  

Support for the competition includes more than 40 partners and co-sponsors in the federal government, industry and scientific and professional societies.  

For more information about the project visit,