2007 Outstanding Academic Advisors Honored

2007 Outstanding Academic Advisors Honored
The 2007 Outstanding Academic Advisors were each honored for their dedication to students.

Sometimes it's for being the cheerful and supportive person in the office or the professor who sends out constant e-mails about job opportunities. It could also be the professor who is spotted working on a Saturday by her students or the one who convinces his student to pursue grad school.

The reasons why some staff and faculty are awarded Outstanding Academic Advisor of the Year are plentiful and diverse. However, they all share similar characteristics in that they go above and beyond supporting their students' endeavors.

On May 17, more than 100 people came together to honor this year's exemplary group at the 2007 Outstanding Academic Advisers Awards. President Michael Ortiz and Provost Tomas Morales hosted a reception for the honorees at the CLA Building's Heritage Conference Center.

The Outstanding Academic Advisor Awards recognize faculty and staff members who excel in helping students reach their potentials. The awardees are each chosen by faculty, staff and students from their college or division.

The awardees are:

  • Gregory J. Partida, Plant Sciences/College of Agriculture     
  • Anna M. Carlin, Computer Information Systems/College of Business Administration     
  • Thienhuong Hoang, Teacher Education/College of Education and Integrative Studies     
  • Brita H. Olson, Electrical & Computer Engineering /College of Engineering        
  • Kenneth S. Nakaba, Landscape Architecture/College of Environmental Design     
  • John T. Self, The Collins School of Hospitality Management    
  • Charles W. Gossett, Political Science/College of Letters, Arts, and Social Sciences         
  • John K. Chan, Biological Sciences/College of Science        
  • Alma R. Pasos, Office of the Registrar/Student Affairs        

In addition the Renaissance Scholars program in the Division of Student Affairs was selected as the Outstanding Advising Program of the Year.

Each award winner is chosen by faculty, staff and students from their college or division.