Glenda Brock Honored With 2006 Hart Award

Glenda Brock Honored With 2006 Hart Award
President Michael Ortiz awards Glenda Brock with the tenth Hart Award at Fall Convocation.

Glenda Brock, who developed and took the helm of the university's first Ombud's Office this year, is the 10th recipient of the George P. Hart Award for Outstanding Faculty Leadership.

University President Michael Ortiz presented Brock with the top honor during Fall Convocation.

“Glenda has served as one of the university's most influential faculty leaders,” Ortiz said. “During her tenure, she has worked tirelessly to increase faculty awareness on issues impacting the academic community, as well as help influence shared governance on campus. … If I had to use one word to describe our Hart Award winner it would be integrity. Cal Poly Pomona is lucky to have her in the family.”

The Hart Award recognizes faculty members who are regarded as role models and leaders. The award was established in 1995 following the death of longtime Political Science Professor George P. Hart. He was also an associate dean in the College of Letters, Arts & Social Sciences and an active member of the Academic Senate.

“He exemplified collegial leadership both on campus and in the community,” Ortiz said.

Brock first came to Cal Poly Pomona in September 1992 as an accounting professor in the College of Business Administration. During the last 14 years, she has filled several leadership roles such as chair of the department of Accounting, faculty associate of Undergraduate Studies, Academic Senate chair and now university ombudsman.

“How wonderful to get an award for something you love to do,” Brock said during Convocation. “It has been my good fortune to work with many of you on this campus. You are the ones that make me look forward to coming to work.”

Brock expressed that her service to the university has been accomplished through the efforts of all those faculty, staff, students and administrators working with her. She thanked the Accounting Department for being her home base as she moved around the campus. She said her time in the Academic Senate gave her a bird's-eye view into the hard work of the university's senatorsand administrators.   

“Of course, the very essence of this campus is the students,” she added. “I have had the pleasure of knowing so many hard working students. Now they are the leaders of our communities, officers in our military, and the moms and dads of our next generation of Cal Poly Broncos.”  

Previous Hart Award winners are:

  • Peggy Perry, 1996              
  • David Speak, Political Science, 1997              
  • Laurie Shrage, Philosophy, 1998              
  • Phillip Rosenkrantz, Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering, 1999      
  • Arthur Parker, Food, Marketing & Agribusiness Management, 2000      
  • Dorothy Wills, Anthropology, 2001              
  • William F. Girouard, Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering, 2002      
  • Gary Allen Cretser, Sociology, 2003              
  • No award given in 2004             
  • Emma Gibson, 2005