2005-06 Faculty Emeritus Awards

2005-06 Faculty Emeritus Awards
English professor Victor Okada with President Michael Ortiz and Francis Flores, Chair of the Academic Senate, during Faculty Emeritus reception in the Bronco Student Center.
2005-06 Faculty Emeritus honorees.
Civil engineering professor Julie Wei with President Michael Ortiz and Francis Flores on May 31, 2006.

At the Academic Senate meeting on May 31 President Michael Ortiz awarded faculty emeritus status to 28 faculty members. This honor is given upon retirement to faculty and staff with a minimum of 12 years of university service or who have provided exceptional contributions to the university. Emeritus privileges include gratis parking, library services, admission to many campus events, use of campus facilities, and much more. The retiring faculty emeriti for 2005-06 are listed below by college or division.

College of Agriculture

  • Flint G. Freeman, Food Marketing/Agribusiness Management  

College of Business Administration

  • Donald Bell, Computer Information Systems  
  • Peggy M. Berger, Technology & Operations Management  
  • Richard J. Bergstrom, Finance, Real Estate & Law  

College of Education & Integrative Studies

  • Richard L. DeNovellis, Education & Integrative Studies  
  • Ralph Pagan, Education & Integrative Studies  

College of Engineering

  • William F. Girouard, Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering  
  • Gary W. Koonce, Mechanical Engineering  
  • Julie H. Wei, Civil Engineering  

College of Environmental Design

  • Norberto F. Nardi, Architecture  
  • Joan M. Safford, Landscape Architecture  
  • D. Rodney Tapp, Landscape Architecture  

College of Letters, Arts & Social Sciences

  • Marguerite Clark, Psychology & Sociology  
  • Gary A. Cretser, Psychology & Sociology  
  • Susana Hernandez-Araico, English & Foreign Languages  
  • Saul Landau, Digital Media Programming  
  • James C. Manley, Philosophy  
  • Victor N. Okada, English & Foreign Languages  
  • Judith A. Sanders, Communications  
  • G. Sidney Silliman, Political Science  
  • Virginia Sullivan, Psychology & Sociology  

College of Science

  • Keith H. Brown, Physics  
  • Soumya Chakravarti, Physics  
  • Mary Z. Luo, Chemistry  
  • Francis P. Mathur, Mathematics  
  • Halina Przymusinska, Computer Science  

The Collins School of Hospitality Management

  • Robert A. Palmer, Hospitality Management  

Student Affairs

  • Aureliano S. Ruiz, Counseling & Psychological Services