2003-04 Faculty Emeritus Awards

This year, 36 faculty members were awarded emeritus status by President Michael Ortiz. Awards were announced at the June 2 Academic Senate meeting. Emeritus status is a prestigious award given to retired faculty with a minimum of 12 years of service or who have made monumental contributions to the campus community. The retiring faculty who received the honorary titles for 2003-04 are listed below by colleges.

College of Agriculture

  • Melinda Burrill, Animal & Veterinary Science 
  • Edward Cogger, Animal & Veterinary Science 
  • Kent Kurtz, Horticulture, Plant & Soil Science 
  • Arthur Parker, Food Marketing & Agribusiness Management  
  • Eudell Vis, Horticulture, Plant & Soil Science 

College of Business Administration

  • Willie Adamson, Accounting 
  • Koichiro Isshiki, Computer Information Systems 
  • James Salvate, Technology & Operations Management 
  • Marvin Siddel, Accounting 

College of Education & Integrative Studies

  • Donald Ambroson, Liberal Studies 

College of Engineering

  • Norman Cluley, Civil Engineering 
  • Gerald Hayler, Engineering Technology 
  • George Matulich, Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering  
  • Lyle McCurdy, Engineering Technology 
  • K. Hing Pang, Chemical & Materials Engineering 
  • Thomas Tice, Engineering Technology 

College of Environmental Design

  • Brooks Cavin, Architecture 
  • Charles Loggins, Urban & Regional Planning 

College of Letters, Arts & Social Sciences

  • Phillip Clarke, Music 
  • Van Garner, History 
  • Carol Holder, English & Foreign Languages 
  • David Jaques, Economics 
  • Richard Johnson, History 
  • Carola Kaplan, English & Foreign Languages 
  • Barbara Thompson, Communication 

College of Science

  • Jonathan Baskin, Biological Sciences 
  • Simon Bernau, Mathematics 
  • Peter Castro,  Biological Sciences 
  • Hasan Celik, Mathematics 
  • Barbara Dev, Chemistry 
  • Frank Glaser, Mathematics 
  • Elisheva Goldstein, Chemistry 
  • Ronald Quinn, Biological Sciences 
  • Richard Robertson, Mathematics 


  • Erik Ennerberg 
  • Daniel Hanne