University Pays Tribute to 2002-03 Pre-Doctoral Scholars

University Pays Tribute to 2002-03 Pre-Doctoral Scholars
JoAnn Aguirre, director of the California Pre-Doctoral Program from the Chancellor?s Office, recently honored faculty sponsor Ronald Quinn, pre-doctoral scholars Karen T. Mabb and Sara J. Martinez, and faculty sponsor Barbara Burke.

Two Cal Poly Pomona students were recently acknowledged for their achievements in becoming California State University 2002-03 Sally Casanova Pre-Doctoral Scholars. A reception was held May 22 in the CLA?s Heritage Conference Center.

Karen T. Mabb, a graduate biology student, and Sara J. Martinez, a senior majoring in chemistry, are among 83 CSU students selected as 2002-03 Sally Casanova Pre-Doctoral Scholars. With this award, students are provided faculty guidance, summer internships and funding support.

The California Pre-Doctoral Program is designed to increase the pool of potential CSU faculty by supporting the doctoral aspirations of CSU students from all campuses who have experienced economic and educational disadvantages. Students are selected by a committee of faculty from the CSU and the University of California.

Each scholar works closely with a faculty sponsor to develop an overall plan leading to enrollment in a doctoral program. Each plan is tailored to the individual career and educational goals of the student. The program places a special emphasis on increasing the number of CSU students who enter doctoral programs at a University of California campus.

JoAnn Aguirre, director of the program from the Chancellor?s Office and a former pre-doctoral scholar, presented Mabb and Martinez with glass plaques. In addition, faculty sponsors, biology professor Ronald Quinn and chemistry professor Barbara Burke, were honored with certificates of appreciation for their dedicated support and assistance to the scholars.

Elhami T. Ibrahim, associate vice president for Academic Programs, moderated the program.

Cal Poly Pomona students have been selected as Sally Casanova Pre-Doctoral Scholars for nearly 20 years.