Wang Award Nominees Honored at Faculty Day Luncheon

Wang Award Nominees Honored at Faculty Day Luncheon
Past Wang Award recipient Steve Wickler is among those faculty honored during Faculty Day on May 6.

Ian Stewart, director of the Faculty Center for Professional Development, and President Bob Suzuki commend faculty for their dedication to the university and teaching.

Faculty members enjoy barbecued chicken and apple pie prepared and catered by Kellogg West.

The Faculty Center for Professional Development added an extra element to this year?s Faculty Day by honoring those who were previously nominated for The California State University (CSU) Wang Family Excellence Awards.

Established by CSU Trustee Stanley Wang, the annual Wang Awards recognize five faculty members/administrators from among the 23 CSU campuses who, through exceptional commitment and dedication, have distinguished themselves by exemplary contributions and achievements. Each honoree receives $20,000.

?In the first three years of the Wang Family Excellence Awards, Cal Poly Pomona faculty members won each year, which is extraordinary,? says Debra Brum, associate vice president for Faculty Affairs. ?Recognizing our nominees as well as those who received awards helps us to recognize what a fine university Cal Poly Pomona is and what a fine faculty we have.?

More than 160 faculty members attended the annual Faculty Day barbecue on May 6 in the courtyard behind Building 1. Guests enjoyed barbecued chicken and apple pie prepared and catered by Kellogg West.

?This tradition is a way of celebrating and thanking faculty for all their hard work in supporting the learning and development of their students,? says Ian Stewart, director of the Faculty Center.

President Bob Suzuki told the faculty that they were ?the most important asset of the university? and that it has been a privilege for him to serve as their president for the past 12 years.

The following nine faculty members received recognition for previous nominations for the Wang Awards:

  • Vernon R. Stauble, professor of International Business & Marketing, was a 1999 award recipient. He was honored for his research in ?relationship selling?; authoring more than 100 articles and case writings and two books; serving as chair or committee member on more than 65 MBA theses; and becoming an Olympic cyclist and winner of the Brother?s Keeper Award for service to the African-American community in Brooklyn, NY.
  • Steve Wickler, professor of Animal & Veterinary Science, was a 1999 nominee and 2000 award recipient. Wickler, the university veterinarian and director of Equine Research, was named the College of Agriculture?s Outstanding Teacher and Outstanding Adviser in 1992 and University Outstanding Professor in 1994. He has received teaching awards from the National Association of Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture, National Association of State Universities and Land Grant Colleges, the Food and Agricultural Sciences Association and Carnegie Foundation; and he has raised more than $800,000 in external funding for research and programs.
  • Susana Hernandez-Araico, professor of English & Foreign Languages, was a 2000 award nominee. Hernandez-Araico has authored 46 articles in English and Spanish; is adviser for the student club CULTURA; and provides expertise on theater of Calderon de la Barca and Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz.
  • Aubrey Fine, professor in the College of Education & Integrative Studies, was a 2001 award recipient. A pioneer in community service-learning, Fine was honored for his dedication and expertise in teaching, special education, child psychology, sport psychology, animal-assisted therapy and gerontology. He was named the 1990 Educator of the Year by the Learning Disability Association of California and was a 1991 nominee for the National Learning Disability Association of America's Educator of the Year award.
  • Don Hoyt, professor of Biological Sciences, was a 2001 and 2002 award nominee. Hoyt has published 35 research abstracts with students as co-authors. He has more than 10 years of leadership as chair of the Animal Care and Use Committee and was instrumental in accreditation of the Animal Care Facility. After three years of Hoyt?s dedicated effort and leadership, the campus was awarded a $2.4 million Minority Biomedical Research Support grant including nine researchers.
  • Christian Poulson, professor of Management & Human Resources, was a 2002 nominee. Poulson was honored with the 1998 Distinguished Educator Award bestowed by the Organizational Behavior Teaching Society and served as an outside examiner on six doctorate dissertations for two doctoral institutions. He was a visiting professor at Bocconi University in Milan and the University of Tasmania, and has been involved with university projects in Swaziland and programs in London, Zimbabwe, China, Vietnam and Thailand. His groundbreaking work on shame and male violence has been featured internationally at conferences, in publications and in radio interviews.
  • Robert Stumpf, professor of Computer Information Systems, was a 2002 award nominee. Stumpf is one of the principal architects of the university?s CIS program, which serves as a model for the development of programs throughout the country. He has co-authored a book on object-oriented analysis and design, and has helped pioneer the College of Business Administration?s new program in e-business. Stumpf has served on advisory boards of Citrus College, Pasadena City College, and Fullerton College; has advised student clubs with as many as 1400 students; and received eight teaching awards from his department and college, including Adviser of the Year twice.
  • Jeffery Mio, professor of Behavioral Sciences, was a 2003 award nominee. Mio was named the 1995-96 Psi Chi Professor of the Year at Cal Poly Pomona; received the 1994 Outstanding Career Achievement Award for Teaching and Training by the American Psychological Association Minority Fellowship Program; was given the 1998 Teaching Award by the Western Psychological Association; and was honored as a Fellow in Division 2 of the American Psychological Association in 1999. He has authored/co-authored/co-edited four books, 19 papers, nine book chapters, five newsletter articles, and four video/multimedia works. For the last eight years, Mio has served as leader of Cal Poly Pomona?s Asian Pacific Faculty, Staff and Student Association.
  • Peggy Perry, professor of Horticulture/Plant & Soil Science, was a 2003 award nominee. Perry is one of three faculty leaders to develop AGRIscapes and has served as campus coordinator for the California Agricultural Leadership Programs for nearly 20 years. In 1999, Perry was instrumental in receiving the first of five grants from the California Department of Education Nutrition that has allowed her to direct the regional program, A Garden in Every School. She received the first George P. Hart Award for Outstanding Faculty Leadership in 1997.

?These nominees exemplify all that's best about Cal Poly Pomona faculty ? their commitment to enhancing student learning, disciplinary scholarship and community service,? says Stewart.