2003-04 Kellogg University Scholars Named

The Kellogg University Scholars Program, the highest distinction offered to students in Cal Poly Pomona?s incoming freshman class, recently awarded 42 scholarships to California high school students demonstrating academic excellence.

Each scholarship is renewable over four years, and can total $10,000 during the course of the student?s education. Students are provided advising and leadership opportunities, free preferential parking during their freshman year and a reduction in yearly room charges for those who choose to live on campus.

Academic excellence, leadership, co-curricular activities and community service were all considered as part of the selection process. This year?s scholars? grade point averages range between 4.0 and 4.76, with an average of 4.24; their individual SAT Verbal and SAT Math scores are up to 790; 90 percent rank within the top 2 percent of their high school class; 11 are valedictorians; many have completed an average of 12 semesters of honors/advanced placement courses; and all add to the university?s diversity of cultures, traditions, experiences and talents.

Kellogg University Scholars enrich the educational experience for all Cal Poly Pomona students and add a dimension of leadership and involvement both on campus and in the local community.

The program was established in 1996 to demonstrate Cal Poly Pomona?s commitment to academic excellence; to recognize and reward the outstanding scholarship of top high school students without regard to financial need or family income; and to carry on the tradition of service and excellence of one of Cal Poly Pomona?s founders, W.K. Kellogg.

The following is a list of the 2003-04 Kellogg University Scholars:

Alta Loma
Jacquelyn Diaz, Etiwanda H.S.
Melissa Gillard, Rancho Cucamonga H.S.

Elizabeth Scott, Azusa H.S.

Carolyn Brown, Burroughs Senior H.S.

Canyon Country
Jacob Brauer, Canyon H.S.

Mina Kay, Whitney (Gretchen) H.S.
Jennifer Yi, Whitney (Gretchen) H.S.

Chino Hills
Brittany Blackman, Ayala H.S.
Todd Cameron, Ayala H.S.

Thomas Gribble, Santiago H.S.

Rhodney Viray, AB Miller H.S.
Kristen White, Henry J. Kaiser H.S.

Nathan Fast, Center Learning at Sepulveda

Ryan Merritt, Glendora H.S.
Michelle Pasillas, Glendora H.S.

Andrew Prichard, Hemet Senior H.S.

Heather Williams, Sultana H.S.

Autumn Martens, Lassen H.S.

La Palma
Stephen Tabaquin, Oxford Academy

Laguna Hills
Stephanie Harless, Laguna Hills H.S.

La Verne
Leslie Jenewein, Bonita H.S.

Los Angeles
Tiffany Anaebere, King-Drew Medical Magnet
Stephanie Wong, Immaculate Heart Catholic H.S.

James Benken, Monrovia H.S.

Monterey Park
Eugene Lew, Mark Keppel H.S.

Rebecca Gilbert, St. Joseph Catholic H.S.

Sean McClain, Chino Senior H.S.

Lisa Bartlett, North Hollywood Senior H.S.

Keith Gebelin, Arlington H.S.
James Starick, Polytechnic Senior H.S.

San Bernardino
Heather Rinne, San Gorgonio H.S.
Daniel Trevino, San Gorgonio H.S.
Matthew Trotter, Cajon H.S.

San Diego
Jenna Mondares, Montgomery Senior H.S.

San Dimas
Danielle Haberern, Charter Oak H.S.
Erin Hourigan, West Hills H.S.

Temple City
Phong Tran, El Monte H.S.
Laura Workman, Temple City H.S.

Boriana Atanassova, Foothill H.S.

Brian Kang, Silverado H.S.
Yvette Oliva, Chino Senior H.S.

Tyler Lentz, Yucaipa H.S.